A lot of people are excited about going to college because it’s a chance to start fresh, a chance to start over. You don’t have to worry about living up to anyone’s expectations of you because nobody has any yet. No one knows you. And there is freedom in that.

But by the time I went off to college, I was 18 and I had lived in 19 houses in two different countries, in three different states, in multiple cities within those states, and I could not have  been more unenthusiastic about starting over.

I feel like so much of who you are is based on where you are and who your friends are and who your family is and when all of that gets stripped away, you can end up feeling a little bit lost.

When I moved into my dorm room, I didn’t want a chance to recreate myself. I just wanted to feel like myself.

It’s true that my heart is full of all the experiences and memories I’ve collected along the way, but I can’t help but feel as if I lost some parts of myself along the way as well.

And that’s what I wrote the song “Gone” about.

 Here’s the link:

https://soundcloud.com/haddiegrace/gone

